Top 7 Places: States I Want to Visit

Here’s a list of the top 7 states (or sometimes groups of states) that I want to visit. Some I’ve visited before, but not for long. I’ve excluded four states from this list – Florida, Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island – because I’ve spent so much time in those states already.

7: Wyoming/Idaho/Montana

Yellowstone National Park, the first national park, covers a large portion of Wyoming and smaller portions of Idaho and Montana. With many scenic vistas, Yellowstone is on my list of places to visit.

6: Alaska

I had the chance to visit Alaska several years ago when my parents went on a cruise there, but I passed it up because “what is there to see in Alaska?” I missed that opportunity, but really, I don’t think cruising around Alaska is the way I want to see it anyway. The largest of the United States, Alaska has plenty of scenery to behold, but the one thing that sticks out in my mind is Mount Denali (aka Mount McKinley). The highest point in North America and one of the Seven Summits, Mount Denali calls out to me.

5: California

I’ve actually been to California several years ago. I spent a couple days in San Diego, a couple more in Los Angeles, and a couple more in San Francisco. Back in those days I was a TV junkee and I thought LA would be the coolest place. During my trip, I loved San Diego and San Francisco, but LA left a lot to be desired. However, now I’m much more into nature and so I’d really like to visit Yosemite National Park and also hike the John Muir Trail, which starts in Yosemite and continues over 200 miles to Mount Whitney.

4: New Hampshire

As someone who was born in New England, I have a strong emotional connection with those six states. However, I’ve spent ninety-nine percent of my time up there in the lower three states – Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut. I have ventured into New Hampshire once to go skiing for several days, but I’d love to take more time and really get to see New Hampshire. Aside from the natural aspects of the state, I also feel a connection to their more Libertarian political ideology.

3: Tennessee/North Carolina

I’ve been to North Carolina a few times, most recently I drove up there and to the Outer Banks to see my sister and her family while they were vacationing there. I’ve also been in the Greensboro area for work a couple times. When I was a kid, my family took a trip to Tennessee, though I don’t remember much. Now, I’d like to visit the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, as well as hike the portion of the Appalachian Trail the runs mostly down the border of the two states.

2: Maine

Maine was another state, like Alaska, that I thought didn’t hold anything that I’d want to see. However, being more in tune with nature in my more recent years, I’ve found that it holds quite a bit of wonder to behold. I’ve heard great things about Arcadia National Park, which I’d love to see. Plus, Maine is one more state that the Appalachian Trail runs through (and ends at for Northbounders). Two things I’ve had a craving for are snow and mountains. The Northeast has many scenic vistas and Maine is no exception.

1: Colorado

Often considered by me, and possibly others, as something of a flyover state, not only have I heard great things about the scenery and the state from people I know, I also value their political ideology, much like New Hampshire. I’ve never been to Colorado, or pretty much anywhere near it. It’s definitely on my list now, though. I hear the mountains are spectacular.

Leave a Reply

