Salt Springs Observation Trail

One day while in the Ocala National Forest, one of the stops I made was a short hiking trail that ends at Salt Springs Run. The hike was an easy one mile out, one mile back loop. The scenery was typical Florida scrub pine forest for the whole trek and it almost didn’t seem worth it until the end when I popped out of the forest and saw the river. I could actually smell the saltwater from a good distance, so I knew when I was close.

Other than the river, there wasn’t much to see at this location, but since it’s only two miles round-trip, it’s a decent stop if you’re in the area. I went in the early summer of a year when bugs were pretty minimal, so I didn’t have any annoying critters hunting me, but I would imagine bugspray wouldn’t be a bad thing to have on you. Other parks to check out in the area include Juniper Springs Recreational Area, Silver Glen Springs Recreational Area, and Alexander Springs Recreational Area.

One thought on “Salt Springs Observation Trail

  1. Pingback: Panorama Photos | ren3gade

Leave a comment