Shooting my Canik55 C100

canik

I’d wanted a gun for a long time and I’d browsed through the eye candy online intent on one day purchasing my own gun. Late last year, I finally decided on a CZ 75 Compact, but there were none in stock anywhere. I researched all the clones and found a Canik55 C100 available and I read good things about it. I purchased my new pistol from BudsGunShop.com for the sweet, sweet price of $348. I had it shipped to Al’s Army Navy in Sanford, Florida, just up the road from me and filled out all the paperwork with them.

It took a while for the gun to ship and it finally arrived in January, so I picked it up and brought it home. I had bought two hundred rounds of ammo shortly before getting my gun, as my coworkers and I were intending to go to the gun range during our lunch hour one day. My gun came in a few days after we went to the range, so I shot my friend’s gun and used up half of my ammo. Once I got my gun, I couldn’t find ammo anywhere and I didn’t want to use up all my remaining store, so I sat on it for a while.

Eventually as summer neared, another coworker had found ammo in stock somewhere and had picked it up, so I paid him and took two hundred rounds. Now I had three hundred rounds and just needed to go to the range, but that’s when I began training for my marathon, so again I put it off. Finally last month I got some coworkers together and we went to the gun range at lunch and I rallied off half of my rounds and even gave my buddies a chance to shoot it.

At first my shots were all over the place, but as I worked through the ammo, eventually I was starting to get a feel for the gun. As I felt more comfortable, I started firing more rapidly which decreased my accuracy in return. I had to get back to work, so I wrapped it up and left with a hundred, fifty bullets left in my reserves. A couple weekends ago, I had planned to go hang gliding with a friend, but had no plans for afterwards, so I packed my gun and bullets and when we were done flying high, we headed to Apopka to the Shoot Straight and hit the range there.

Since I was low on ammo, I picked up some extra – a nice bulk package of one thousand rounds. I ended up firing about two hundred, fifty rounds in the hour that I was there. I started using my left trigger finger to hold the trigger guard and found that I could reduce the recoil to almost nothing. However, now that I had removed recoil from the equation, all my shots were going low. I made some more adjustments and eventually was able to keep pretty level with my shots, though I was pulling left and right a bit. It was hard to judge where each shot was going as my last target was riddled with a hundred holes.

The gun shoots great, it’s nice and smooth and since the slide sits inside the frame, the recoil is greatly reduced. Like I mentioned above, I was able to all but eliminate recoil by holding the trigger guard with my off finger. The clip holds thirteen rounds and is easy to load. I’ve had issues in the past being able to fully load clips due to the spring tension, but I can fill this one easily enough. I typically put ten rounds in it, though, just to more easily keep track of how many bullets I’m shooting.

The grip feels great – being a clone of a compact gun, my pinky would hang off the end, but I didn’t even notice it until I watched the video I had taken. I only fired single-action, which was smooth. I’ve dry-fired the double-action and it feels pretty good, but no live-firing.

Here’s a short video from the range. I cut it down to the only couple sequences where the gun was actually in the shot. I had some footage of the target as I shot, but it was too far away to make out anything.

2 thoughts on “Shooting my Canik55 C100

  1. Pingback: 2013 in Review | ren3gade

  2. Hope you are enjoying your C100 as much as I am mine. The pistol I purchased was shot for the first time during a combat pistol course. Yeah, it was a risk, but I was pleasantly surprised. 500 rounds of limited recoil and very good acccuracy. This one is a keeper. 🙂

Leave a comment